Question a problem with my if-condition statement

shiccorama

Programming Experience
1-3
Dear all, how are you ?
this is sherif and I'm a newbie in learning c#, would you please help me ?
my function is this :
C#:
double FirstNum;
double SecondNum;
double ThatsMyNum;

public void LargestOfThree(double x, double y, double z)
{
    if (x > y)
    {
        x = FirstNum;
    }
    else if (z > y)
    {
        z = SecondNum;
    }
    else if (FirstNum > SecondNum)
    {
        ThatsMyNum = FirstNum;
    }
    else
    {
        ThatsMyNum = SecondNum;
    }

Console.WriteLine("The Largest Number is : " + ThatsMyNum);
}
and the output is // The Largest Number is : 0

why "zero", what's wrong ????
thanks in advance ....

Last edited by a moderator:
You need to debug your code and you can work it out for yourself. Place a breakpoint at the top of the code and then, when execution breaks at that line, you can step through the code line by line. At each step, you can use the debugging tools that VS provides to examine the state of the application, e.g. the values of your variables and the path execution takes, and identify where the actual behaviour differs from your expectations. If you do that, you should be able to see that your logic doesn't come close to what is required to compare three numbers.

The code you have is an example of what happens when beginners try to write code without knowing what that code has to. You may have known what the end result was supposed to be but you clearly had no real idea of what the steps were supposed to be. This is why you don't start by writing code. You should work out the logic first and only write code once you know exactly what it has to do.