Question Accessing Properties of Derived Objects Within List

LeoNim

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello! As the title mentioned, I have a question regarding lists of objects, including derived classes. If it helps, a bit of background information on myself regarding programming experience: I self-taught a bit of Visual Basic and C++ back when I was in high school, but I don't have any official training or expertise with programming. I'm self-teaching C#, and I believe that I have a fairly solid grasp on at least the basic fundamentals, though obviously I still have quite a ways to go. I'm currently using Visual Studio Express 2015 for Desktop, which I believe uses the latest .NET framework, though I'm not 100%.

For a project I've wanted to do since the days I tried self-teaching C++, and to practice the fundamentals of OOP, classes and inheritance, I'm working on a basic RPG style game, or at least the core mechanics of one. Right now, I'm working on code for items. Without just slapping the entire code onto the post, I have the following inheritance structure so far:

Items - Base class, is abstracted;
Equipment : Items;
Consumables : Items; - Still in progress, but a couple types of objects will derive from Consumables with different properties;
Armor : Equipment;
Weapon : Equipment

I've also created a Character class, which, among other things, has a System.Collections.Generic.List<Items> called inventory. The intended application of this is as you'd expect; I want the character to have an inventory of items, naturally. Because the List is of Items, I can happily shove any derived class item into it, and the program has no issue with this whatsoever. My Main method runs through a test where it initializes a character, provides an inventory, creates instances of several items, and adds them to the List. This works 100%! I'm happy with the results so far.