add two new columns and delete a column

Govind Sankar

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi

I am a beginner level C# programmer. But currently I have a task to work with a Database created in C# using Visual Studio. My knowledge on database is also very limited.My first task is update the current existing database. i.e add two new columns and delete a column. My question is where should I begin. Should I just work on C# program. Do I have to make any changes with the Database Management System. This is my current doubt. If it is just C# I can learn on how to do it. If there are other things to be also done, I done know what other things I have to learn. Kindly do help me. Thank You.

Hi, welcome to the forums.

A good place to start would be a search engine rather than a forum. We will mostly only help when we have seen you to be making an attempt and then we offer guidance based on what you've already tried. But since you haven't tried, there is nothing to help you with. We are not going to do the research for you, as that is what you need to do, and once you study how it's done, and understand the requirements, then you can come back to the forums and show us your attempt at writing the required code, and explain any issues you are having with said code. First search bing for c# add two new columns to sql database

This really depends on your database.

Let's talk about relational database engines first:

Traditionally, updating the database schema for database that uses a SQL based database engine is done outside of the client programming language. So you would normally run a SQL script that adds or deletes columns.