Beginner C# "using" Question

ellpee

Programming Experience
10+
Hi all! I'm a fairly experienced VBA programmer but in the VERY early stages of getting acquainted with C# and Visual Studio. I'm just going through some exercises in one of the how-to books and something has stumped me. The exercise in question starts with the 'using System;' statement that is pretty standard so far in my explorations. Later on, the exercise tries to create a series of Window objects: A Window(), a ListBox(), and a Button(). All is well until the Builder gets to the Button(), at which point it tells me I may be missing the 'using' statement it needs to recognize 'Button'. I thought that Button was just another variation of a Window, so I don't see how the first two pass the test but Button() fails.

I've looked at the VS help and googled a bit, and found lots of things that explain what the 'using' thing is all about, but nothing that tells me which one I need in order to to recognize 'Button'. First question, therefore, which one do I need to add? And beyond that, where, in VS or elsewhere, can I find a straightforward list of all the 'using' possibilities? Or is there a way to get VS help to tell me which one I need to add, instead of teasing me with "you need one"? Apologies for this kindergarten question, but hey, we all gotta start somewhere.

Solution
We don't even really know what you're trying to do. It would help to see the exercise. Right now it looks to be getting you to reimplement a bunch of stuff that already exists and running the risk of generating a pile of conflicts you'll struggle to sort out, so I'm not "down with it", even from an academic viewpoint.