Cannot load PowerShell snap-in Microsoft.PowerShell.Diagnostics

demetsen

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2022
Messages
14
Programming Experience
1-3
Hi,

I need to run powershell command in C# code for a scaffolding. This is a .NET Entity Framework Core Console project. I will take a Database string from a user and use DB First Method to link the database. Is this possible to do this?

This is my code:
1643034323934.png

1643034585772.png



This is the output that I get:
1643034084776.png


Thank you.
 

Attachments

  • 1643034273963.png
    1643034273963.png
    137.5 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:

JohnH

C# Forum Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
1,422
Location
Norway
Programming Experience
10+
Which file or assembly can't be loaded?
What is the C# project platform?
 

JohnH

C# Forum Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
1,422
Location
Norway
Programming Experience
10+
Thanks for updating post to include information. I see there is netcoreapp3.1 in your path. From what I can tell the Microsoft.PowerShell.SDK 7.2.1 depends on .Net 6. The last version that supports .Net Core 3.1 looks to be 7.0.8.
 

Skydiver

Staff member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
5,251
Location
Chesapeake, VA
Programming Experience
10+
As a quick aside, in the future please post your code as text in code tags instead of using screenshots.

This doesn't look like database issue. It looks like a PowerShell hosting issue.
 

demetsen

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2022
Messages
14
Programming Experience
1-3
Thanks for updating post to include information. I see there is netcoreapp3.1 in your path. From what I can tell the Microsoft.PowerShell.SDK 7.2.1 depends on .Net 6. The last version that supports .Net Core 3.1 looks to be 7.0.8.
Thanks a lot for your response.
I updated package versions like this and it worked:

1643093911023.png


But this time it gives this error:
1643093991812.png


"Scaffold-DbContext" command is working when do this manually with Packace Manager Console.

Scaffold-DbContext "Data Source = (DESCRIPTION = (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = localhost)(PORT = 1521))(CONNECT_DATA = (SERVER = DEDICATED)(SERVICE_NAME = XE))); User Id =***;Password=***;" Oracle.EntityFrameworkCore -contextdir Data -OutputDir Models -context ModelContext -Force;

Is there something that I am missing?
 

JohnH

C# Forum Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
1,422
Location
Norway
Programming Experience
10+
Are you running VS/your app as elevated administrator?
 

JohnH

C# Forum Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 23, 2011
Messages
1,422
Location
Norway
Programming Experience
10+
Maybe someone that knows Oracle EF Core can see the problem. Feel free to post a separate thread about this issue in Entity Framework or Oracle
 
Top Bottom