Answered Changing button text color depending on link status

JonnyPeck

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello there,

I hope all are coping well in this 'lock-down'?

I'm getting to grips with C# and have created a very basic form in Visual Studio (which I will jazz up a bit):

1588339559077.png

Each of the buttons when clicked - will open up a specific web based environment.

An example of the code for the top left button is: (I have removed some values)

C#:
private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            System.Diagnostics.Process.Start("http://********/sites/dept/csm/catt/Pages/AccountChanges.aspx?isdlg=1&&FilterField1=Instance_x0020_ID&FilterValue1=******");

Is there anything I can add to this line of code so that the text on the button will show as red if the link is down, and green to show the link is up?

I'm still new to c# so your expertise is much appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
Yes, there is. But that depends on how you are proven if the URL is reachable or not. How are you able to provide this information in the button click event?

No, there isn't anything you can add to that specific line of code to dynamically mark the button whether the related site is up or down. There are other lines of code that you could write that can update the look of the button to indicate whether it is up or down, but it will not be a one-liner, and the code to do the UI update should not really live in the click event.