Resolved checked selector not wotking

learner

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
8
Programming Experience
Beginner
C#:
this is the html
<div>
    <input type="checkbox" name="skills" value="js" />JS
    <input type="checkbox" name="skills" value="jQuery" />jQuery
    <input type="checkbox" name="skills" value="C#" />c#
    <input type="checkbox" name="skills" value="VB" />VB
    <br /><br />
    <input id="btn1"  class ="btn btn-outline-info" type ="submit"  />


    <div id="result1">
      

    </div>
</div>


this is in the site.js file

$(document).ready(function () {
    $('#btn1').click(function () {
       var result = $('input[type="checkbox"]:checked');
        if (result.length > 0) {
            var resultString = result.length + "  checkbox checked <br/>";
        
            result.each(function () {

                resultString += $(this).val() + "<br/>";
            });
            $('#result1').html(resultString);
        }
        else {
            $('#result1').html("none selected");
        }
    });

})

the output should be something like this :
none selected , if no checkbox is selected and like this
1601373104574.png
:
if checkbox are selected.
there is no output if the submit button is clicked. I am not sure what is wrong in the code.
 

Skydiver

Staff member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
1,959
Location
Chesapeake, VA
Programming Experience
10+
Typically, the submit type button only works when it is in a <form>.

We can't really help you much with just the HTML you are showing us. Where is the the associated code?
 

learner

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
8
Programming Experience
Beginner
Typically, the submit type button only works when it is in a <form>.

We can't really help you much with just the HTML you are showing us. Where is the the associated code?
Actually I am learning jQuery , so this was an example to show how the checkbox selector works to print which checkbox has been selected. It is not part of anything, just little code by itself.
 

Skydiver

Staff member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
1,959
Location
Chesapeake, VA
Programming Experience
10+
I see... and so how is this a C# question?
 

learner

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2020
Messages
8
Programming Experience
Beginner
I see... and so how is this a C# question?
I have been told that C# developers are usually full stack developers , and jQuery is part of it. So I thought someone might know this. And also this was posted under the design section , which I thought comes under front end , that is the reason I posted here.
 

Skydiver

Staff member
Joined
Apr 6, 2019
Messages
1,959
Location
Chesapeake, VA
Programming Experience
10+
Not all C# developers deal with Web technologies.
 

Sheepings

Senior Programmer
Staff member
Joined
Sep 5, 2018
Messages
1,679
Location
UK
Programming Experience
10+
What type of project/and language are you running that code in?

I would first suggest you run the later code in a validator and you will notice it doesn't parse. There are plugins you can use to help you with development. I know there is one for Mozila Browser for JQuery, because I used to use it when I used to use that browser.
 
Top Bottom