Connecting to Database in Visual Studio 2010

jcs

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am fairly new to C# and just as new to Visual Studio and am working on a project for personal development. I am following the instructions at the following page to set up a connection from a windows form to the database:
How to: Create and Execute an SQL Statement that Returns Rows

I have a DB called Taxdb, table called Federal, and I created a table adapter called Federal1.TableAdapter. (Original, I know.) I went through the wizard to create a query, and called it GetFedSingle. So when I got to the part where I put code in the form, I thought it would be a slam dunk by putting this line of code in:

TaxdbDataSetTableAdapters.Federal1TableAdapter tableAdapter = new TaxdbDataSetTableAdapters.Federal1TableAdapter();
TaxdbDataSetTableAdapters.Federal1TableAdapter.GetFedSingle();

However, the two errors I am getting are these:

Invalid token '(' in class, struct, or interface member declaration
'Tax3.TaxdbDataSetTableAdapters.Federal1TableAdapter.GetFedSingle(Tax3.TaxdbDataSet.Federal1DataTable)' is a 'method' but is used like a 'type'

I put this code as the first line of the meat of the form code, above the variable definitions:

namespace Tax3
{
public partial class TaxResults : Form
{
TaxdbDataSetTableAdapters.Federal1TableAdapter tableAdapter = new TaxdbDataSetTableAdapters.Federal1TableAdapter();
TaxdbDataSetTableAdapters.Federal1TableAdapter.GetFedSingle();

I'm sure I am forgetting something really stupidly easy. Does anyone have any suggestions?

You're trying to execute a query that returns presumably one row but, even if the compiler accepted that code, where exactly are you expecting that row to go? You're not putting it anywhere so the code wouldn't do you any good anyway.