Question Decimal issues in Word Notation

BigDumDum

Programming Experience
Beginner
im new to coding and C# and wanted to make an idle game, i implemented a word notation system, which was far more frustrating than i wish it would have been, the result was that 1000 was displayed as 1K, which i wanted. but 1501 was displayed as 2K, rounded up, so i had to add two decimals preventing it from doing that, which is fine i prefer it with decimals anyway now that i think about it. but it also gives number below 1000 decimals, example 398.85 instead of 398, and i have no idea how to fix that, any help is highly appreciated
here is the code for the WordNotation iself
C#:
public string WordNotation(double number, string digits)
{
    double digitsTemp = Math.Floor(Math.Log10(number));
    IDictionary<double, string> prefixes = new Dictionary<double, string>()
    {
        {3, "K"},
        {6, "M"},
        {9, "B"},
        {12, "T"},
        {15, "q"},
        {18, "Q"},
        {21, "s"},
        {24, "S"},
        {27, "O"},
        {30, "N"},
        {33, "D"},
        {36, "U"},
        {39, "Du"},
        {42, "Tr"},
        {45, "Qa"},
        {48, "Qi"},
        {51, "Sex"},
        {54, "Sep"},
        {57, "Oc"},
        {60, "No"},
        {63, "V"}
    };

double digitsEvery3 = 3 * Math.Floor(digitsTemp / 3);

if (number >= 1000)
        return (number / Math.Pow(10, digitsEvery3)).ToString(digits) + prefixes[digitsEvery3];

return number.ToString(digits);
}

and heres the values the WordNotation is applied to

C#:
SoulsClickValueText.text = "Tap\n+" + WordNotation(SoulsClickValue, "F2") + " Souls";
SoulsText.text = " " + WordNotation(souls, "F2");

Last edited by a moderator:
Firstly, why would you use a Dictionary<double, string> when all the keys are integers? The number of digits is always going to be a whole number so that should be a Dictionary<int, string>.