Resolved Detecting encryption

Donal23

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi. I was taught in another thread about extensions, and I find that awesome. I was just going through my utility class making some stuff extensions so I can simplify my code, and it reminded me of a question I had. I needed the ability to encrypt strings for safe data storage. I'm a beginner, so no way was I going to tackle that myself. Ergo, I found and lifted some code on the net for encryption:
C#:
public static string EncryptString(string Message, string Passphrase = "(my default value here)") {
  byte[] Results;
  UTF8Encoding UTF8 = new UTF8Encoding();
  MD5CryptoServiceProvider HashProvider = new MD5CryptoServiceProvider();
  byte[] TDESKey = HashProvider.ComputeHash(UTF8.GetBytes(Passphrase));
  TripleDESCryptoServiceProvider TDESAlgorithm = new TripleDESCryptoServiceProvider();
  TDESAlgorithm.Key = TDESKey;
  TDESAlgorithm.Mode = CipherMode.ECB;
  TDESAlgorithm.Padding = PaddingMode.PKCS7;
  byte[] DataToEncrypt = UTF8.GetBytes(Message);
  try {
    ICryptoTransform Encryptor = TDESAlgorithm.CreateEncryptor();
    Results = Encryptor.TransformFinalBlock(DataToEncrypt, 0, DataToEncrypt.Length);
  } finally {
    TDESAlgorithm.Clear();
    HashProvider.Clear();
  }
  return Convert.ToBase64String(Results);
}

public static string DecryptString(string Message, string Passphrase = "(my default value here)") {
  try {
    byte[] Results;
    UTF8Encoding UTF8 = new UTF8Encoding();
    MD5CryptoServiceProvider HashProvider = new MD5CryptoServiceProvider();
    byte[] TDESKey = HashProvider.ComputeHash(UTF8.GetBytes(Passphrase));
    TripleDESCryptoServiceProvider TDESAlgorithm = new TripleDESCryptoServiceProvider();
    TDESAlgorithm.Key = TDESKey;
    TDESAlgorithm.Mode = CipherMode.ECB;
    TDESAlgorithm.Padding = PaddingMode.PKCS7;
    byte[] DataToDecrypt = Convert.FromBase64String(Message);
    try {
      ICryptoTransform Decryptor = TDESAlgorithm.CreateDecryptor();