Answered Exception User Unhandled System.NullReferenceExeption. Driver was null.

benc991

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am currently under development of a new app for a laser printer. I am using Visual studio 2017 with Twincat integrated. My main program is in PLC but I have an Interface written in C#. I am fairly new in C# so I must be missing something obvious. I have succesfully build an app, but when I try to launch it I get an error.

Mod edit : Attachment removed. Post code in code tags, not as screenshots

Last edited by a moderator:
Solution
In the future, please post the text of your code in code tags, as well as the error. It is hard to view code on small devices like phones.

Anyway, the error is telling you exactly what the issue is. You are trying to access an object that is null. So either driver is null or driver.Content is null.
In the future, please post the text of your code in code tags, as well as the error. It is hard to view code on small devices like phones.

Anyway, the error is telling you exactly what the issue is. You are trying to access an object that is null. So either driver is null or driver.Content is null.

Solution
Also for future reference, please provide meaningful titles that summarise your issue. Everyone who posts here needs help regarding their app so your title tells us absolutely nothing about whether the thread is relevant to us.

Thank you for your help and comments. Noted. I am used to work in PLC so this is my first time working on such a big project. It's strange to me that the compiler didn't issue an error in this instance. I need to give an object a value that is different from zero. How can I do that? Do I need to call a type's class constructor or is my error because something else.

C#:
private DriverMode ModeSelect(Button Driver)

{
            switch(Driver.Content.ToString())
            {
                case "Continuous":
                    return DriverMode.continuous;

case "10 mm":