Answered Fill a complex external shape on a PictureBox

Leden

Programming Experience
10+
Hi, I am quite new to C# and would like to re-write an app that I have developed in VBA recently.
I have several complex shapes drawn externally in PowerPoint and saved as .png and/or .bmp pictures. I have loaded one of them manually on the pictureBox1. Now I want to fill solidcolor it by a control, say a slider at a rate of app 5-10 RGB colors per second over a range (there are 250+ colors over the entire range of the vertical slider).
How can I do this? Most of the 'Fill Color' examples I've found on the web deal with drawing a rectangle/oval and then filling it. Since I already have a shape loaded on the Form how can I introduce it and then change the color? My picture consists of two parts: Outer block - a rectangle working as a background and an irregular inner shape which needs to be painted/filled. To give the Fill effect of a Paint program am I supposed to define a pixel inside the inner shape first?
Thank you..

Hello, and welcome to the forums.

So what is the problem? I don't see any code above in your post to show what you've tried.

Since I already have a shape loaded on the Form how can I introduce it and then change the color?
Since you are coming to C# from VBA. I think you need to specify which project type you are planning on designing this new application? If you are choosing Winforms, I'd say you are wasting your time, as Winforms is EOL and dated, and secondly, I would suggest undertaking this in WPF. WPF provide shapes which might be better for you to work with depending on what exactly it is you are trying to do. WPF is also faster and designed for working with shapes and drawing. . .

Whats the purpose of your picturebox?

Last edited: