Help with a working example connectionstring file

newcoder

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello,
I am very new to C# and I really need help with a project I am working on. I am looking to load a web.config from say c:\temp\web.config and populating some Text box's from sections of the web.config. I would also need to write in these Text Box's and have it write back to the same sections in the web.config. Example <add name="DefaultConnection" connectionString="Data Source=MSSQLSERVER;Initial Catalog=MYDATABASE;Integrated Security=True"
I would like to load the MSSQLSERVER from data source= into TextBox1 and MYDATABASE from Inital Catalog = into TextBox2 and be able to save these back to the file. If some one could help me with a working example I would be very grateful. I have spent many days trying examples but none ever seem to do just what I need. If I have a working example I would be able to take that and add all the fields I need to my program. I need to do this with a Windows form and not ASP.net

I thank you for your time and look forward to hearing from everyone.

Last edited:
It is possible you can do it like this:
//add usings to top of file
//using System.Linq;
//using System.Xml.Linq;

var filename = @"C:\temp\web.config";
var doc = XDocument.Load(filename);
var attr = doc.Descendants("connectionStrings").First().Element("add").Attribute("connectionString");

var builder = new System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnectionStringBuilder(attr.Value);
var value = builder.DataSource; //same with .InitialCatalog
builder.DataSource = "newvalue";

attr.Value = builder.ConnectionString;
doc.Save(filename);

The example is using Basic Queries (LINQ to XML) (C#) | Microsoft Docs