Question How is that answer possibe?

Bose

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi, I'm a complete beginner in c# and trying to solve some challenges and I came across this and I have no idea how that answer was possible, here is the link - C# Sharp exercises: Calculate the sum of all the intgers of a rectangular matrix except those integers which are located below an intger of value 0 - w3resource I'm wondering how that j in for loop became 0 from 1 and there is a decrement in the code. And i also feel that the challenge is too logical for me can you suggest ways to improve my logic? thank you.

Look closely at the condition in the inner loop:
C#:
int x = 0;
for (int i = 0; i < my_matrix[0].Length; i++)
    for (int j = 0; j < my_matrix.Length && my_matrix[j][i] > 0; j++)
        x += my_matrix[j][i];
return x;

The outer loop goes through each column. The inner loop goes through each row. The condition for the inner loops checks to make sure that the index j is less than the number of rows, and that the element at j,i is greater than zero.

As an aside there is a bug in that code: It can't handle this input:
C#:
new int[][] {
    new int[]{1, 1, 1, 1},
    new int[]{1, 1, 1},
    new int[]{1, 1},
    new int[]{1},
}
(granted, some people may say that input is not a rectangular matrix).

Look closely at the condition in the inner loop:
C#:
int x = 0;
for (int i = 0; i < my_matrix[0].Length; i++)
    for (int j = 0; j < my_matrix.Length && my_matrix[j][i] > 0; j++)
        x += my_matrix[j][i];
return x;

The outer loop goes through each column. The inner loop goes through each row. The condition for the inner loops checks to make sure that the index j is less than the number of rows, and that the element at j,i is greater than zero.

As an aside there is a bug in that code: It can't handle this input:
C#:
new int[][] {
    new int[]{1, 1, 1, 1},
    new int[]{1, 1, 1},
    new int[]{1, 1},
    new int[]{1},
}