How to save DataGridView contents to a database file?

Alex2020

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi,
I want to create a windows form application which gets some information from textboxes and puts them into DataGridView panel. I can make such an application, but I need to save this information into a database file which can be read just by my application (Notepad, etc. cannot open the file). How can I do that? I need to have a tutorial for doing this (I'm new to C#). What keyword should I search in Youtube?

Just search for "encryption". Encrypt your file so that only your application can decrypt it.

I don't quite know why you would want to hold your user's data hostage like that.

I don't quite know why you would want to hold your user's data hostage like that.
It would generally be to ensure that the only way to make changes to the data is vis the application. I worked on customising a POS application many years ago and it used an Access database to which access was restricted that way. There may be a number of reasons for wanting to restrict access, including data integrity. There may also be some less legitimate reasons. We've all seen many a person do something because they can rather than because they should. Often times, if you don't want users accessing data directly on their local machine, you should be using a single online database that's accessed via a web service.