How to search sequence of bytes of a bin file?

Gokuland

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello, this is my first post. I'm fairly new to C# and specially to file handling, but I've been wanting to code a program that does something like this:

1. Load a file
  2. Input a start and beginning offset addresses where to scan data from
  3. Scan that offset range in search of specific sequence of bytes (such as "05805A6C")
  4. Retrieve the offset of every match and write them to a .txt file
2zelef5.png
As the picture shows I need to search the file for "05805A6C" and then print to a .txt file the offset "0x21F0".

So far I can only achieve the first step which is loading the file and converting it into a byte array, but have no clue on how to search my array. Could anyone guide some guidance or advice?

Thanks

You would actually achieve steps 1 and 2 in one go. You could do it in two but that would mean reading data that you didn't need. You would create a FileStream and either call its Seek method or set its Position property to the start of the range you were interested in. You would then call the Read method of that FileStream, providing a byte array and specific a num er of bytes to read that corresponded to the length of the range you were interested in. You would then have a populated byte array and have avoided reading any data before or after the range of interest.

Step 3 is the meat of the problem. I don't have any code for you but I would advise that you read up on pattern-matching algorithms for binary data. I haven't had to do something like that for a long time but I do recall learning about such algorithms in my university days. Once you have an understanding of the algorithm you're going to use, you can implement it in any language. If you have specific issues while trying to do that in C# then we can help with those but you should know EXACTLY what your code is trying to achieve before starting to write it.