How to use variable name in sql command

Nugget

Programming Experience
3-5
I am a novice on C# so please help.

The code is to list the names of all the tables in a database and count number of records in each table, error in using the variable tabname, please help, many thanks:
C#:
private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
    var list = new List<string>();
    int maxcount;
    String connetionString;
    String tabname;
    SqlConnection cnn;

connetionString = @"Server=DESKTOP-E441IBF\SQLEXPRESS2017;Database=TZ_Demo;Trusted_Connection=true";
    cnn = new SqlConnection(connetionString);
    cnn.Open();

DataTable schemaTable = cnn.GetSchema("Tables");

foreach (DataRow row in schemaTable.Rows)
    {
        list.Add((string)row["TABLE_NAME"]);
    }

maxcount = list.Count;
    for (int i = 0; i < maxcount; i++)
    {
        tabname = list; // list of table names
        SqlCommand comd = new SqlCommand("select count(*) FROM  'tabname' ", cnn); // error is here, syntax error
        int count = Convert.ToInt32(comd.ExecuteScalar());
        Console.WriteLine(count);
    }

cnn.Close();
}

Last edited by a moderator:
The primary issueis on line 24 where C# and SQL are two different languages, and furthermore, C# code typically will be running on your computer, while the SQL will be executing within the database engine (and may running on another machine). So your tabname variable within your C# code does not get translated or sent to SQL.

Your secondary issue is that you can't assign a List<string> to a string in C#. (Other languages may support this, but alas, C# in it's current incarnation does not.) So your line 23 should also be giving you an error. To fix this issue, pull a string out of the list by indexing into the list; OR iterate over the list using foreach.

So you have a few options open to you with regards to getting the name into your SQL query: