How to wait for serial data received.

Huzo

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello guys. I am somewhat new to C# and .NET Framework. I am trying to make a program that sends data to device and receives it form a device using a serial port. First attempt was with a console app it worked fine for a concept. Now I am making a GUI app. So what I need is to send data to a device (I can do that) then wait for data to be received I am using SerialDataReceivedEvent, as dont know when will data come.
I have managed to display that data by using this.Invoke(new EventHandler()) and new method to do it here is that snippet.
C#:
private void  serialPort1_DataReceived(object sender, SerialDataReceivedEventArgs e)
{
    byte[] dataInHex = new byte[6];
    string[] dataInHexSting = new string[6];

serialPort1.Read(dataInHex, 0, dataInHex.Length);

for(int i = 0; i < dataInHex.Length; i++)
    {
       dataInHexSting[i] = string.Format("{0:X2}", dataInHex[i]);
    }
    dataIn = string.Join(",", dataInHexSting);

this.Invoke(new EventHandler(ShowData));

}

private void ShowData(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
    receive.Text = receive.Text + dataIn + " ";
}

I am not sure how does SerialDataReceived handler work. Is it like an interrupt routine in micro controllers and lets other part of the program run or is it just a method that pauses every thing.
I have been reading System.Io.Ports documentation and it seems that serial.Read() would be the best option because it waits for the data to be received if I am right.

It's like an interrupt handler, but the call happens on another thread rather than interrupting your UI thread.

Part of the transition into Windows GUI programming is also making the mental shift from imperative linear programming mental patterns to event driven programming mental patterns. Avoid polling if you can. Calling Read() without any data available to read is effectively like polling because you will stall out the UI thread.

Last edited: