making combobox selection from a database

lional

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi
I have an app where students are inputed and stored in a database table. Certain combobox selections are made and stored in the table. Is is possible when later editing the student that those selections are automatically selected in the combobox. I am using wpf which I am very new to along with binding. Can I be pointed in the right direction. I tried the following line but it does not seem to work. Must I use binding to accomplish this

string titleString = reader.GetString(1);
editStudentsTitleComboBox.SelectedValue = titleString;

If you are using binding to populate your combobox, you should also use binding to set the current selected item. You can use code behind if you wish, but you'll need to know the correct time to do that code behind call, as well as be aware be aware of your long term maintenance cost: now you have three places to look at when maintaining your code with regards to the combo box behavior: your XAML, your view model, and your view's code behind.

Thank you. I am not using binding. I am still new to this. A friend of mine runs a theological college and I am trying to give them a pro bono solution for now with my limited knowledge. I will take it on as a projects to learn from in the future. I did PHP development but took a liking to C# and am busy doing some self study. I am using wpf because I want to set a basic foundation to progress from as my knowledge improves.

I created a class to populate the various comboboxes from the database which is as follows:
C#:
string queryString = "Select " + comboBoxKey + ", " + comboBoxValue + " FROM " + tableName;
            SqlConnection comboBoxDatabaseConnection = DatabaseUtilities.GetDatabaseConnectionDetails();
            SqlDataAdapter comboBoxDataAdapter = new SqlDataAdapter(queryString, comboBoxDatabaseConnection);
            DataSet comboBoxDataSet = new DataSet();