Resolved Most efficient way to choose random item from reducing list?

Ren6175

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello, complete Noob here with C#. Coded in Basic 25 years ago. Started C# 2 days ago for fun to create an app for personal use. Need to be able to hit a button and return a random item from a list. Then when I hit the button again return a different item excluding the first item and so on until all items are exhausted. The specific application is going to choose a monster to activate in a board game then another monster etc until the round is over then it will reset.

I can think of ways to do it like assign numbers and choose a random number. Then when I hit the button again, if it chooses the same number I can have it “reroll” until it chooses a different one. This seems inelegant and likely to slow down the program.

Is there an efficient way to do it?

Use the random class and generate your numbers bases on the List<T>.count of your lists items. If your list has 5 items then generate your random choices between zero and six, and if your first random is one, then exclude that number from your next random call by choosing between two and six and so on so on. Post back with what you've tried and maybe we can work on making it better. For each number you receive back from your random generator, store it in a collection like a list, and then compare your next random number to ensure its not the same number as one generated previously.

Depending on how many numbers you need, you could add a range of numbers to a list and randomly rearrange that list. You could then iterate the list and you would then have a list of numbers randomly generated. There is a range of ways you could go about it.

Last edited: