MVVM approach advice needed

damien.darhk

Programming Experience
3-5
Hello,
I'm a beginner in MVVM, and WPF. My boss asked me to port a winform application in WPF; Basically it have an interface with docked windows (like VS), where each window display some data( loaded from a file) in different way: simple chart, tables, 3d chart, raw data ecc(should be 6 window); this are also interactive, I mean the user can change some value and save the file update for other uses.
I'd like to use mvvm pattern (and caliburn micro framework) to do the task.
My problem is that I'm not sure to have correctly understand how to approach an application like this in MVVM.
For my understanding, I need to use for docking something like avalondock(that support mvvm), and create a View(as usercontrol in VS) and a ViewModel for each dockend"window" plus one as container, and a Model that actually contains the file as an array/stream.
I'm also unsure where handle the "interactivity"(basically the mouse change chart value by mouse), because I founded different answers googleing.
I can add more details if needed . Any advice?

I'm also unsure where handle the "interactivity"(basically the mouse change chart value by mouse)
In general, in the ViewModel. Only rarely would you do this is the View when are truly affecting GUI stuff and not indirectly updating the underlying model.

Take time to read some of Josh Smith's writings about MVVM to understand how MVVM applications are structured and laid out. His book "Advanced MVVM" is also an excellent read.

It takes a huge mindset change to go from the WinForms way of doing things to the WPF MVVM way of doing things. Some people just give up and end up using WPF the WinForms way. Please don't do this unless you are just writing a toy application to get something done quickly as a prototype.

In general, in the ViewModel. Only rarely would you do this is the View when are truly affecting GUI stuff and not indirectly updating the underlying model.