Question "No overload for method" Error

jcw608

Programming Experience
Beginner
Maybe someone can help me with this code. I am just learning c# and i could use all the help i can get. In the NPC.cs file on line 13 I get the error "No overload for method 'AddNewDialogue' takes '1' arguments". I have been fighting this line of code for hours! If anyone can take a look at the attached files and help, it would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Attachments

• Project.zip
    3.6 KB · Views: 30
Please do not post your entire project as a first option. Post the relevant code and only the relevant code directly, using appropriate formatting tags, i.e.

[xcode=c#]your code here[/xcode]

If we can't work out the issue form that, then we'll let you know if we need the entire project. It should be a last resort. You should also provide a FULL and CLEAR explanation of the problem. Don't expect us to infer everything from the code, especially if it has not been adequately commented (which I don't is or is not the case here because I haven't looked).

That said, the error message is quite clear. You're calling a method named AddNewDialogue and you're only passing one argument, but there is no such method with only one parameter. You can only pass to a method what it expects to receive. When you type the name of a method and an opening parenthesis, Intellisense will pop up a list of all the overloads the method has and what parameters each one has. You must provide arguments for the parameters of one of those overloads and nothing more.