One Method fired from different controls

crewchiefpro

Programming Experience
10+
I will warn you upfront, I am a 25 year developer of FoxPro and Visual FoxPro.

In my forms I could create a Method that I could fire from any other control's events. Didn't matter if it was a Click() Event, DoubleClick(), Valid() etc.

I am new to C# forms. Is there a way to call a method from another control or create a single method that can be called similar to what I am used to?

Don Higgins
Crew Chief Pro Drag Racing Software

If you want to do this in the designer, you can select one or more controls, open the Properties window, click the Events button and then double-click the event of interest. That will generate a method and register it as a handler for that event of all the selected controls. You can also select one or more controls and then use the drop-down for an event in the Properties window to select an existing method with the appropriate signature as a handler for an event.

If you want to do this in code, you can type the control name and field name followed by the '+=' operator (and a space, I think) and Intellisense will offer to auto-complete with an appropriate method name, then offer to create the method. You can then register that same method as a handler for other events using the same '+=' operator. Note that the designer option above simply generates similar code in the designer code file.

Just note that you won't necessarily be able to use the same method for every event. The 'e' parameter is a different type for different events. For instance, the Validating event gets a CancelEventArgs while the Click event just gets an EventArgs. If you don't need to access any event-specific members of the 'e' parameter then you can just use a method where 'e' is declared as type EventArgs.

Wow, didn't know it was this involved. In VFP we just put this in whatever event we wanted:

ThisForm.CalculateET()