Open file using combo box selection

Abdul Hayee

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi Everyone.
I want to make an application in which different files will be open based on selection from combo box. Below is the image what i want to do
1587738494218.png

if i select File1.pdf and click Open button then the file open in richtext box. same as for other files (File2.pdf ....so on).
Also if i add the files in folder which contains files, the combo box will be updated.
Any Suggestions or hint how to start this. What to read? How to start? because i am a newbie

Thanks and best regards

Firstly, you can't open a PDF file in a RichTextBox control. That control can display plain text or RTF text, which is markup akin to HTML that contains both the text itself and the formatting information. If you want to display the contents of a PDF file then you will need a dedicated PDF component or else a web browser control that understands PDFs.

As for the ComboBox and the file names/paths, I would suggest that you do the following:
C#:
var folder = new DirectoryInfo(folderPath);
var files = folder.GetFiles("*.pdf");

myComboBox.DisplayMember = "Name";
myComboBox.ValueMember = "FullName";
myComboBox.DataSource = files;
myComboBox.SelectedItem = null;
That will display the names of all the PDF files in the specified folder. You can handle the SelectionChangeCommitted event of the ComboBox and get the path of the selected file from the SelectedValue property and then do with it what you will.

If you want to be able to update the file list if and when the folder contents changes then you can use a FileSystemWatcher component to monitor the folder and raise an event when a change occurs. I won't go into detail on that now. You should do some research and make your best attempt to implement it and then ask more if you encounter an issue.