Print Button

ad.txt

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi !
I'm completely new to C# so my question may be quite absurd. I have to add a print button on a Form.
My goal is that the user can just print a document by clicking on this button without having to browse in the computer.

I suppose I have to create a first code selecting the document from the computer and then a second one to print this document.
Is that right ?

I've tried many things and codes that I found on YouTube or on the internet but none of them have worked.

Do you have any idea of code that I can use to achieve my goal ?

I'm completely lost so any help would be amazing !

Thank you !! :)

What kind of document are you trying to print?

We don't just give you code in this forum. Show us what you have tried.

codetried.PNG

Thank you for your response !

I'd like to open an excel file.
This is what I tried but it doesn't work ...

Please post your code as text in code tags. Code in screenshots is very hard to deal with, specially on small devices like phones.

Is Excel installed on the machine that you want to print from?

C#:
namespace WindowsFormsApp3
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }

private void printDocument1_PrintPage(object sender, System.Drawing.Printing.PrintPageEventArgs e)
        {

OpenFileDialog dialog = new OpenFileDialog();
            if (DialogResult.OK == dialog.ShowDialog())
            {
                string path = dialog.FileName;
            }

}

private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
           printPrewiewDialog!.Document = PrintDocument1;
        }
    }
}
This is my code, I hope you'll see it better like this, sorry for the format.
And yes Excel is installed on the machine that I want to print from.

Last edited by a moderator: