Problems trying to insert data

Jerry

Programming Experience
3-5
Help anyone,
I am new to C# and using databases. I am trying to insert information into a database using some code from Youtube. I was able to successfully select data from the database, but for whatever reason, when I try to execute the insert query (bolded and underlined below) below, my try catch block throws an exception related to a syntax error and referring to my insert statement:
C#:
namespace Movies
{
    public partial class Form2 : Form
    {
        private OleDbConnection connection = new OleDbConnection();
        public Form2()
        {

InitializeComponent();
            connection.ConnectionString = @"Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0;Data Source=C:\Users\Graham\Desktop\School.accdb;
                                          Persist Security Info=False;";
        }

private void btn_save_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            try
            {

connection.Open();
                OleDbCommand command = new OleDbCommand();
                command.Connection = connection;
                //command.CommandText = "insert into students(Names, Age, Gpa) values('" + txt_name.Text +"','" + txt_age.Text + "','" + txt_gpa.Text + "')";
                [U][B]command.CommandText = "INSERT INTO students (Names, Age, Gpa) VALUES ('Abeni', '20', '3.2')";[/B][/U]
                int numRows = command.ExecuteNonQuery();
                MessageBox.Show("Data Saved");

}
            catch(Exception excpt)
            {
                MessageBox.Show("Error" + excpt);
            }
        }
    }
}

Last edited by a moderator:
Firstly, I have wrapped your code snippet in code formatting tags. As you can see, it makes it far more readable. Please do so whenever posting code snippets. Generally you should use:

[xcode]your code here[/xcode]

as it will perform syntax highlighting. If you want to add extra formatting though, like bold or underline, then use:

[code]your code here[/code]