Procedure that validates the data in the table

onmyway

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi guys (apologies if I posted in the wrong topic),

I hope you can help me. I am quite new to C# development, and would really appreciate your expertise.

I want a simple procedure/function I can call to validate the data in a table:

So this is what needs to happen:

1. Procedure that loops through a Table
  2. Update certain fields based on some rules

Here are some examples of the rules to apply based upon the value of the specific field in the table:

1. 1.if [Data].[Finance_Project_Number] = Null/Blank
    ?Set [Processing_Result] = 2
    ?set [Processing_Result_Text] = ?No Project Number?

2.if [Data].[Finance_Project_Region] = Null/Blank

?set [Processing_Result_Text] = ?No Region?
    Also, on point no 2, how can I check for valid entries? Something like ?one of?: Gauteng, Free State, Limpopo etc. If it is ?one of? then it passes, otherwise;
    ?set [Processing_Result_Text] = ?Incorrect Region Entered?

3.Cross reference the customer number with another table.column: [Data].[Customer_Number] exists in [CustomerMaster].[Customer_Code]
    if not:
    ?set [Processing_Result_Text] = ?Customer Number does not Exist?
I thank you in advance!

Last edited:
What exactly do you mean when you say "table"? Are you talking about a database table? An ADO.NET DataTable, typed or untyped? A DataGridView or other grid control? Something else?

Based on what you've said, I think that you would start with a loop (for or foreach) to go through the rows of your table. You would have a method for each rule that took a row as an argument, tested it and modified it appropriately. You would then call each of those methods on the current row inside the loop, either directly or via another method that called each of the individual methods.