Resolved Question about constructor

LudoFromHere

Programming Experience
Beginner
I'm a noob and I'm wondering, what is the difference between :
C#:
public Vehicle(string name, string color, int quantity)
{
    this.name = name;
    this.color = color;
    this.quantity = quantity;
}

And :

C#:
{
    name = name;
    color = color;
    quantity = quantity;
}
Thanks in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for your answer. Actually, I realise that my question wasn't properly formulated. I should have written:
C#:
{
    this.name = name;
    this.color = color;
    this.quantity = quantity;
}
Versus :
C#:
public Vehicle(string aName, string aColor, int aQuantity)
{
    name = aName;
    color = aColor;
    quantity = aQuantity;
}

In other word, what is the benefice of using the keyword "this", instead of the second solution. I can see both in the tutorials.

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome to the forum. In the future, please put your code in code tags. Easiest way to do that is to use the button on the toolbar that looks like </>.

Using this lets you deal with cases when you don't have as much freedom to modify the parameter names. Recall that your parameter names will show up in any autogenerated documentation, you're primary focus should be to provide easy to read documentation for your users of your code. The focus should not be simplify your life as a developer.