Question regarding Smallest Value.

Kiexus

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi. I'm a beginner of C#.

While doing a practice question, I have a question that bothers me a lot.

I'm making a invoice window that shows some information such as gross invoice, discount, total, max and min of total invoice.

But as see the line 10-11, the part of data form of largest and smallest invoice amount, i don't know why "0m;" doesn't work for smallest invoice and decimal.MaxValue has to be used.

Anyone can explain to me the reason?

I will attach the entire code below.

Thanks alot.

Invoice Total:
 public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }
        int numberOfInvoice = 0;
        decimal totalOfInvoice = 0m;
        decimal invoiceAverage = 0m;
        decimal largestInvoice = 0m;
        decimal smallestInvoice = decimal.MaxValue;

private void btnCalculate_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            decimal subtotal = Convert.ToDecimal(txtEnterSubtotal.Text);
            decimal discountPercent = 0.25m;
            decimal discountAmount = Math.Round(subtotal * discountPercent, 2);
            decimal invoiceTotal = subtotal - discountAmount;

txtSubtotal.Text = subtotal.ToString("c");
            txtDicountPercent.Text = discountPercent.ToString("p1");
            txtDiscountAmount.Text = discountAmount.ToString("c");
            txtTotal.Text = invoiceTotal.ToString("c");

numberOfInvoice++;
            totalOfInvoice += invoiceTotal;
            invoiceAverage = totalOfInvoice / numberOfInvoice;
            largestInvoice = Math.Max(largestInvoice, invoiceTotal);
            smallestInvoice = Math.Min(smallestInvoice, invoiceTotal);

txtNumberOfInvoice.Text = numberOfInvoice.ToString();
            txtTotalOfInvoice.Text = totalOfInvoice.ToString("c");
            txtInvoiceAverage.Text = invoiceAverage.ToString("c");
            txtLargestInvoice.Text = largestInvoice.ToString("c");