replace in type not working

Pajito

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi everybody,

I am totally new in c#, I installed NReco Nuget Package and I am trying to experiment with it. All I want is to replace a part of a var with the text of a combobox but anything I tried seems not to be working,bellow you can find my code.
I hope it is understandable.

thanks you in advance
Pajito

C#:
private void btnConvert_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
    OpenFileDialog ofd = new OpenFileDialog();

if (ofd.ShowDialog() == DialogResult.OK)
    {
        var convert = new NReco.VideoConverter.FFMpegConverter();
        string a = "NReco.VideoConverter.Format.mp4";

a = a.Replace("NReco.VideoConverter.Format.mp4", "NReco.VideoConverter.Format" + comboBox1.Text);

convert.ConvertMedia(ofd.FileName, @textBoxDest.Text + ((char)92) + textBoxName.Text + comboBox1.Text, NReco.VideoConverter.Format.mp4);

MessageBox.Show("Converted MPLIET");
    }
}

Last edited by a moderator:
This is rather cumbersome but it is probably doing exactly what you expect:
C#:
a = a.Replace("NReco.VideoConverter.Format.mp4", "NReco.VideoConverter.Format" + comboBox1.Text);
Did you actually bother to look and see what a contained after that? The real problem is that you don't actually use the a variable after that. It's hard for us to tell you exactly what you need to do without any experience with that package but if you expect to use the result of the replacement then you might try using it.

That said, I'm not sure that you should be using it. It's hard to tell what those arguments to ConvertMedia are supposed to be as you've provided no explanation.

anything I tried seems not to be working
You have to be more descriptive than jsut "seems not to be working". Tell us what result you were expecting, and what actual result you are getting.

In your code above, what is the value of your a variable before line 10? What is the value after executing line 10? What value were you expecting to see?