Set desktop wallpaper

leorob88

Programming Experience
1-3
I'm willing to fix an application i made. Basically, it sets the desktop wallpaper on windows (i'm on Win10). The only issue is when Windows restarts the wallpaper is gone and it's just black. I'm no expert and I found this code online. I'm wondering if some of you could know how to fix that.

C#:
//inside Form1: Form

[DllImport("user32.dll", SetLastError = true)]
        [return: MarshalAs(UnmanagedType.Bool)]
        static extern bool SystemParametersInfo(uint uiAction, uint uiParam, String pvParam, uint fWinIni);

private const uint SPI_SETDESKWALLPAPER = 0x14;
        private const uint SPIF_UPDATEINIFILE = 0x1;
        private const uint SPIF_SENDWININICHANGE = 0x2;

private static void DisplayPicture(string file_name)//the string is the file path you want
        {
            uint flags = 0;
            if (!SystemParametersInfo(SPI_SETDESKWALLPAPER,
                    0, file_name, flags))
            {
                Console.WriteLine("Error");
            }
        }

Does the file still exist after restarting?

Given that you're using SPI_SETDESKWALLPAPER, I'm guessing that there's a corresponding Get value. I'd be inclined to use that after the restart and see if the value has changed. Also, I suspect that you should be using SPIF_UPDATEINIFILE and SPIF_SENDWININICHANGE as the flags when calling SystemParametersInfo. What are they there for otherwise?

Given that you're using SPI_SETDESKWALLPAPER, I'm guessing that there's a corresponding Get value. I'd be inclined to use that after the restart and see if the value has changed. Also, I suspect that you should be using SPIF_UPDATEINIFILE and SPIF_SENDWININICHANGE as the flags when calling SystemParametersInfo. What are they there for otherwise?