Simple documentation for Blazor?

baylf2000

Programming Experience
10+
I'm new to C#, although I have a lot of experience in C++, Python, PHP etc.

I have the need to create a simple windows application that presents a very basic web interface to the user, pulling data from a local sqlite database. People have suggested using Blazor Server, however I've spent three days going through dozens of tutorial from both Microsoft and others and have ended up giving up on each and every one, usually because of what seems to be significant version differences in the tutorial and the currently available.

I've found a few downloadable example projects, however these all contain huge numbers of files and code to do something as simple as present a basic todo list, and trying to work out what the thing is doing without documentation is extremely difficult.

I'm hoping someone here can recommend some basic tutorials that are up to date with the current releases and show how to get a basic CRUD example up.

Please and thank you!

If you want to create a Windows application, why are you looking at Blazor which is a web based application?

So you don't have to create a Windows application. You have to create a web application. Or are trying to say that the backend has to use a Windows OS, but the front end has to be a web application?

Anyway, consider that Blazor is still relatively young and still rapidly changing. This is why a lot of the information for it is disjointed. Another thing is that it builds on other existing technologies, so it assumes that you already know Razor, the ASP.NET WebAPI, SignalR, etc.

Presumably you've tried the MS tutorials?

Install VS2022

New project

Blazor Server template

Choose stuff like the name, net version, whether to use top level statements, and an identity probider

Make the project, run it

-

Now you want to add a DB?

Install EF Core Power Tools

Obtain your existing SQLite db (or create one; it really is the path of least resistance)