String or binary data would be truncated.

Jasonkwp

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi i am new to ASP.NET C# and i am trying to write a simple inventory system , however i receive the following error when i debug the code for errors.

System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException: 'String or binary data would be truncated.
The statement has been terminated.'

Please be advise that i do know what the error means but i have checked my SQL db table design and the character lengths for each field are set high enough to cater for the text to be entered. see db table design in screenshot below

Here is my C# code:

C#:
using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Threading.Tasks;
using System.Windows.Forms;
using System.Data.SqlClient;
using System.Configuration;
using System.Security.Cryptography;

namespace InformationTechnologyInventoryStock
{
    public partial class Workstations : Form
    {
        private int n;

public Workstations()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }

private void Workstations_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)

{
            using (SqlConnection con = new SqlConnection())
            {
                con.ConnectionString = (@"Data Source=SH-JASONK\DEV;Initial Catalog=StockInventory;Integrated Security=True");
                con.Open();
                bool status = false;
                if (combostatus.SelectedIndex == 0)
                {
                    status = true;
                }
                else
                {
                    status = false;
                }
                using (SqlCommand cmd = con.CreateCommand())
                {
                    cmd.CommandText =
                    cmd.CommandText = (@"INSERT INTO [StockInventory].[dbo].[Workstations](Emp_Name,
Emp_Surname, Department, Company,
Hostname, Wkst_Status, Make, Model, SerialNumber,