Resolved System.IO.FileNotFoundException

FerroCoder

Programming Experience
10+
There is a lot of information about this exception, but I haven't been able to find a solution.

Background: I am a long-time C++/MFC developer, relatively new to C#/.NET. I am in the very early stages of redeveloping a very large (2+ MLines) C++/MFC program under C#/.NET 6.0. The prototype has been going well until I recently added a namespace/class. Now, on program startup I get the error of the first figure:

System.IO.FileNotFoundException.png

CPauseClass, CDCBiasClass and CHysteresisClass are wrapper classes around CPause, CDCBias, and CHysteresis classes defined in namespaces IPause, IDCBias and IHysteresis, respectively. The class hierarchy is shown in the second figure:

Class Hierarchy.png

The wrapper classes are partially defined as:

C#:
class CPauseClass
{

CPause m_pPause = new CPause(  true );
    CTask m_tMyTask = null;

}  // CPauseClass

class CDCBiasClass
{

CDCBias m_dcDCBias= new CDCBias(  true );
    CTask m_tMyTask = null;

}  // CDCBiasClass

class CHysteresisClass

CHysteresis m_hHysteresis = new CHysteresis(  true );
    CTask m_tMyTask = null;

}  // CHysteresisClass

(Yeah, I'm carrying MFC habits into C#.)

The exception is thrown when CHysteresisClass includes the declaration for m_pHysteresis, even though the exception itself appears in the declaration of m_pMyHysteresis as in the first figure.

Clearly a file associated with IMeasurement is not being found. No exception is thrown for ITask or IHardware. I can find no substantive difference in the IHardware and IMeasurement project properties. Both projects output equivalent files. Reference to IHardware is not throwing an exception.

Project dependencies are properly set.

Questions:

- Is there a way to trap this exception? I cannot use a try/catch block since the exception is occurring on member declaration, not in procedural code.