Answered The Techonoliges, Entity Framework and LINQ

Inki

-
Programming Experience
10+
Hi,

I am new to the microsoft technology stack.
Using MSSQL , .NET and the Entity Framework - is there any need use LINQ, does that add any value for me ?
I am about to create a Wniforms application.

best, i

LINQ is a language feature, it's not necessarily a "technology" or "framework".

If you are using Entity Framework then you pretty much do have to use LINQ.

There are numerous LINQ providers for different data sources and you don't have to use most of them. For instance, LINQ to Objects is the provider for writing LINQ queries against standard arrays and collections. There's no need to use LINQ in that context if you don't want to, but it certainly can make your code more succinct. There is the LINQ to XML provider for querying XML data, LINQ to DataSet for querying ADO.NET DataTables, LINQ to SQL for direct access to SQL Server databases and many more. If you're using Entity Framework then you should be using LINQ to write your queries against the LINQ to Entities provider. While EF does support Entity SQL, that should really only be used in situations where it provides a genuine advantage. EF is intended to work with LINQ. Unlike LINQ to SQL, which Microsoft created to work with SQL Server specifically, any data source vendor can create an EF provider for that data source and then the LINQ to Entities provider interfaces with that. SQL Server is just one of many databases for which an EF provider exists.

If you are using Entity Framework then you pretty much do have to use LINQ.