Question Trouble with Top-Level Statement

Riddler667

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello Im a beginner at C# coding and trying to make a simple cmd prompt that shows the status of a service running. Below is my code with the exception listed. Ive tried alot of different solutions with no avail. Please let me know if you can help out.
C#:
using System.ServiceProcess;
using System.Net;
using System.Data;
using System.Threading.Tasks;

static string GetWindowsServiceStatus(String SERVICENAME)
{

ServiceController sc = new ServiceController(SERVICENAME);

switch (sc.Status)
    {
        case ServiceControllerStatus.Running:
            return "Running";
        case ServiceControllerStatus.Stopped:
            return "Stopped";
        case ServiceControllerStatus.Paused:
            return "Paused";
        case ServiceControllerStatus.StopPending:
            return "Stopping";
        case ServiceControllerStatus.StartPending:
            return "Starting";
        default:
            return "Status Changing";
    }
}
namespace DNAChecker
{
    class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            try
            {
                Console.WriteLine("DNADrvr32 Status: " + GetWindowsServiceStatus("DNADrvr32"));             ----- CS8801    Cannot use local variable or local function 'GetWindowsServiceStatus' declared in a top-level statement in this context.
                    Console.ReadLine();
            }
            catch (Exception ex) { } 
        }
    }

1660687239099.png

Last edited by a moderator:
For future reference, please don't post unformatted code snippets. They are much harder to read, especially on mobile devices. Also, please provide meaningful thread titles. The title should be a summary of the problem so we have an idea of what the thread is about without opening it. "Beginner needs help" is as good as no title at all, because it describes 99% of all threads.