Question Trying to create an array of class instances (System.NullReferenceException)

Merv

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello everyone,
I'm new on the forum and recently started learning C#, I'm still a beginner when it comes to programming.

I'm trying to make multiple instances of a class in the same way i would make an array but i get the following error:

System.NullReferenceException: 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object.'
Pawn[] was null.

Example:
Pawn[] Pawn = new Pawn[5];      

public void ReachPawn()
{
    Pawn[1].x = 5;
}

Can anyone tell me how to do this properly?

You need to allocate a Pawn object for each of the other array elements.

I figured it out, thanks!

Victory!:
Pawn[] pawn = new Pawn[5];

public void ReachPawn()
{
    for (int i = 0; i < 5; i++)
    {
        pawn[i] = new Pawn();
    }
    pawn[0].x = 4;
    Console.Write(pawn[0].x + " " + pawn[1].x);
    Console.ReadKey();
}

Last edited:
The best way to create and populate an array depends on the specific situation but you could populate that array where you're creating it:
C#:
Pawn[] pawn = new[]
              {
                  new Pawn { x = 4 },
                  new Pawn { x = 4 },
                  new Pawn { x = 4 },
                  new Pawn { x = 4 },
                  new Pawn { x = 4 }
              };
I would say that explicitly initialising an array that way is preferable, unless there's a specific reason to do otherwise.

The best way to create and populate an array depends on the specific situation but you could populate that array where you're creating it:
C#:
Pawn[] pawn = new[]
              {
                  new Pawn { x = 4 },
                  new Pawn { x = 4 },
                  new Pawn { x = 4 },
                  new Pawn { x = 4 },
                  new Pawn { x = 4 }
              };
I would say that explicitly initialising an array that way is preferable, unless there's a specific reason to do otherwise.