want to show serial data in rich text box

Abdul Hayee

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi
I am a beginner in .Net(Visual C #) platform. Basically i am an electronic engineer and having microcontroller programming experience.
I have to do some programming in C# which send and receive some data from hardware. For this purpose i am writing a program in C# to make a desktop application.
Somehow i wrote a program which is sending the data from C#. Now i want to receive data in C# but i am getting error in it.
Kindly tell me about its solution.
The error i am getting is
csharp-1.png

Here i want to show the received data
csharp-2.png

waiting for your replies

Thanks

The DataReceived event is raised on a secondary thread when data is received from the SerialPort object. Because this event is raised on a secondary thread, and not the main thread, attempting to modify some elements in the main thread, such as UI elements, could raise a threading exception. If it is necessary to modify elements in the main Form or Control, post change requests back using Invoke, which will do the work on the proper thread.
Here's a general article about it: Make thread-safe calls to controls - Windows Forms

I find lambdas convenient for creating inline delegated methods to be invoked, for example:
C#:
Action appendText = () => richTextBox1.AppendText("something");
richTextBox1.Invoke(appendText);

Do you understand why you need to delegate, and why invoking is required? If the control wasn't created on the thread where your code is running, you won't be able to access those controls. (Hence the error: cross-thread operation not valid). You can only access controls from the same thread as they were created on. Otherwise invoke will need to be called.

Delegating puts you back on talking terms with your UI where the control was originally created. You could almost consider it like creating a bridge to your UI when you use either Action or a Delegate to pass your method back to the control.