What is polymorphism?

SBS21332108

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi C# programmers, I need help, can anyone please explain to me what is polymorphism and how it's related to C#. Thanks:concern:

What do you not understand about it from what you've already read? There's plenty of information out there already so there's no point our repeating what you've already read if you don't understand that?

I am new to C# and wanted to ask few questions about Polymorphism so I thought I would continue on from this thread.
I have read up on polymorphism.

Let's say I have a parent class called Animal and a child class called Dog. Dog inherits Animal. So like this:

C#:
using System;
namespace Polymorphism
{
    class Animal
    {
        public string FirstName = "FN";
        public string LastName = "LN";

public void [COLOR=#0000ff]DisplayFullName[/COLOR]()
        {
            Console.WriteLine(FirstName + " " + LastName);
        }
    }

class Dog : Animal
    {
        public void [COLOR=#0000ff]DisplayFullName[/COLOR]()
        {
            Console.WriteLine(FirstName + " " + LastName + " - [COLOR=#ff0000]Woof[/COLOR]");
        }
    }

class Program
    {
        static void Main()
        {
            Animal a = new Dog();
            a.DisplayFullName();
        }
    }
}

Now from what I understand, Polymorphism allows you to declare a Parent class reference variable that is able to point to a Child class object i.e. Animal a = new Dog().
I am also aware that during run time, the variable changes it's type i.e. the variable a changes from Animal to Dog or does it change from Dog to Animal? I am not too sure.