Why do some Methods not require a specified class? (Extremely basic question)

Cshape65d

Programming Experience
Beginner
I apologize for such a basic question, but I'm extremely new to C# and can't seem to confidently answer this question:

Why does something like:
string myStringVariable2 = myStringVariable.ToUpper()
not require me to call the String Class?

But something like:
int myIntVariable2 = Math.Abs(myIntVariable)
does require the Math class call-out.

Is ToUpper an "extension" variable and this is why it's not necessary?
Are all methods that can be called with just a period and the method name attached to your variable considered "extension" variables?
When I look up the ToUpper method in the String class, it looks like it's built like other methods so I don't understand why it's not written the same way when referenced. I was expecting to see the use of "this" as a parameter but don't see it.

Please note: any guidance the terms/phrases/terminology used in this question would be greatly appreciated. Part of not being able to find an answer on my owns comes to my very limited and likely inaccurate C# vocabulary.

Thank you very much

Last edited:
Class methods / instance methods are by themselves not initialized... because they are an inherent part of the class definition they require the class that contains them to be initialized before they can be used. Normally it's easy to spot an initialization of a class by the use of the new keyword; however that's hardly ever used for a class like string; similarly for classes that are initialized using helper static methods. Irrespective of how they are initialized, the instance methods / class methods cannot be accessed until the class is initialized.

Static methods are not instance methods.
It's as I mentioned before; useful to consider that static methods are simply created within a class structure to collectively catalogue it, for example:
  • The mathematic static methods are housed in a class called Math.