Resolved Beginner's help needed! @ and section

Gabriel_7

Programming Experience
5-10
I'm new to C# and have been looking at someone else's code and saw it had loads of @ symbol prefixes. I know how it's used for escape characters and for variables, however it's in front of almost everything, for example: @if and @section scripts. What does it mean in those scenarios....and what is a section script?

Sorry for the newb questions but I've been hunting on the internet and can't find an explanation anywhere.

Thanks!
Gabriel

Solution
This is not a C# General question. You must be looking at a Razor page, so this question is specific to that. Razor pages are basically HTML templates that are executed on the server to generate an HTML page that is sent to the browser. You will probably notice that there are lots of <tags> in the HTML style. Some will actually be HTML while others are tag helpers. The two basically look the same but will be coloured differently in the code editor. HTML tags will be interpreted literally while tag helpers will be translated into HTML tags. What you're talking about is how you insert C# code into a Razor page. The @ symbol indicates that what follows is C# code rather than HTML or tag helpers. For instance, you might add an...