Best practice

Daz66

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi all,

I'm trying to create a Quotation section in my WPF app and it's going to involve cascading ComboBoxes.

I use a local instance of MySql and ADO.NET with parameterised Stored Procedures to retrieve data.

I have created multiple category tables with FK relationships to a parent category table; my question is this:

Is it better to create a separate model/repo for each table in the application, or do I let MySql take some of the weight by creating a SP with joins and create just one SP/repo?

Is there a best practice here, or is this simply a preference issue?

I'm not interested in using ORM at this time, as a novice I can easily see when things break using my current approach.

Thanks

A model is not suppose to be transliteration of your database schema. A model is supposed to represent the domain object that your program is dealing with. Yes, in a lot of toy examples of the model ends up corresponding one-to-one with a table schema and database schema, and unfortunately students don't appreciate the nuance.

A repository is supposed to take care of returning domain objects from the database, or storing them into the database. It takes care of the necessary composition/decomposition, or translation from/to database schemas.
Is there a best practice here, or is this simply a preference issue?

In my opinion, yes, there is: Use an object oriented database instead of an ORM. That way you can just save the object directly into the database and not have to worry about making that object into its relational representation. Please take this with a huge grain of salt since I am in the "no SQL" camp.

Thanks @Skydiver, I quite enjoy the sql aspect to be honest, it's something else to learn too. I'v seen references to 'no SQL' but not researched it all...might have a look....presumably LINQ involved?