Better method than mdi parent/child forms

AlexJames

Programming Experience
10+
Hi All

I'm relatively new to C# and 90% of my experience is in the older languages. I'm busy with a new WinForms C# project which simply has a docked panel on the main form with a bank of buttons to mimic a menu, when one of these menu buttons is clicked I just need to display a new form but with my left menu still visible and clickable. I was playing around with setting up the main form as the mdi parent and the forms to be shown as the child forms. This seems to work ok, but i have quite a bit of UI design and the child forms don't quite display as i would like. So my question really is, is there a better we to achieve this without using mdi parent and child forms ? i also believe that this method is out dated.

Many thanks.
AJ

MDI can still work for the right application but many applications have gone towards creating a separate window for each document. In your case, are you actually displaying multiple child windows at the same time? If not, you don;t need MDI or even separate forms. You can use a user control for each of the subsets of functionality and then you create, destroy, show and hide them as you need to.

And there is also the Windows UI Guidelines to keep mind of:

MDI can still work for the right application but many applications have gone towards creating a separate window for each document. In your case, are you actually displaying multiple child windows at the same time? If not, you don;t need MDI or even separate forms. You can use a user control for each of the subsets of functionality and then you create, destroy, show and hide them as you need to.

Hi Jm