Having trouble hiding/showing MainForm

kaos_king

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi Guys,

I'm new to C# and I am re-doing a simple application that I did in VB in order to learn a little. This makes it easier as I already have the logic so I am essentially just converting each line. I'm sorry to register to ask this as I can normally just google and gather things I need but I am a little stumped on this (what I assume is an easy problem).

The application only has the MainForm and is hidden upon startup, it is then activated by pressing both the control keys. I did this in VB with the use of GetAsyncKeyState and a timer:

C#:
Private Sub Timer1_Tick(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Timer1.Tick
    Dim LCtrlKey, RCtrlKey, EscKey As Boolean
    LCtrlKey = GetAsyncKeyState(Keys.LControlKey)
    RCtrlKey = GetAsyncKeyState(Keys.RControlKey)
    EscKey = GetAsyncKeyState(Keys.Escape)
    If CapturedKeys = False Then
        If LCtrlKey And RCtrlKey = True Then
            CapturedKeys = True
            Me.Show()
        End If
    Else
        If EscKey = True Then
            btnClose_Click(sender, e)
        End If
    End If
End Sub

This has worked perfectly for over a year - although I'm not sure if that's the best way of achieving what I want but "it worked for me" :)

Now it comes to C# and I'm taking the same approach, this is the code I am testing with just trying to get the form to show/hide and it won't work from the timer. However a button on the form has no issue hiding it so I was thinking maybe its a threading problem, but if that's the case, why would it work in VB?

C#:
[COLOR=#0000ff][B]private[/B][/COLOR] [COLOR=#ff0000]void[/COLOR] [COLOR=#191970][B]OnTimedEvent[/B][/COLOR]([COLOR=#ff0000]object[/COLOR] source, [COLOR=#004085]ElapsedEventArgs[/COLOR] e)
{
    [COLOR=#008000]// If both control keys are pressed at the same time, show the form[/COLOR]