How to multithread to start a method

jrdnoland

Programming Experience
10+
I'm working on a search program and would like to have a national instruments led control blinking during the search. The led needs to be started on its own thread while the search runs on a separate thread. This is my first attempt at multi-threading in c# and I'm not sure what to try.

Here is my c# code, I'm trying to start the LED blinking then run the search then stop the LED blinking. The LEDON() and LEDOFF() work if run separately.

C#:
private void btnSearch_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            Thread LEDStart = new Thread(LEDON);  //Creates a Thread that will call LEDON()
            LEDStart.Start();

int i;
            string temp = "*" + textBoxFileName.Text + "*";
            string[] AllFiles = Directory.GetFiles(this.textBoxFolderpath.Text, temp, SearchOption.AllDirectories);
            for (i = 0; i < AllFiles.Length - 1; i++)
            {
                progressBar1.Maximum = AllFiles.Length - 1;
                string[] row = new string[] { Path.GetFileName(AllFiles[i]), AllFiles[i] };
                dataGridView1.Rows.Add(row);
                progressBar1.Increment(1);
                if (progressBar1.Value == progressBar1.Maximum)
                {
                    Thread LEDEND = new Thread(LEDOFF);  //Creates a Thread that will call LEDOFF()
                    LEDEND.Start();               
                }
            }
        }
        //Turn On LED
        private void LEDON()
        {
            if (this.led1.InvokeRequired)
            {
                this.led1.Invoke(new MethodInvoker(() => LEDON()));
                return;
            }

led1.BlinkMode = NationalInstruments.UI.LedBlinkMode.BlinkWhenOn;
            led1.Value = true;         
        }
        //Turn Off LED  
        private void LEDOFF()
        {
            if (this.led1.InvokeRequired)
            {