make the below code cleaner

fsociety

Programming Experience
10+
Hi all,

I've been developing software on two proprietory platforms for the last 15 years. Crestron and AMX. Until recently, both have always used a procedural C style language. In fact, the Crestron Simpl+ language is a direct overlay of C I believe. More recently, on the Crestron side, it is now possible to develop in C# and .NET, albeit an old version. The hardware depends on .NET 3.5 Compact meaning I have to use VS2008. Even though it's an old IDE, it's worlds apart from what I'm used to using.

For anyone that doesn't know, Crestron and AMX are manufacturers of Audio/Visual control systems. Boxes with a lot of serial ports, IO ports, relay ports etc for controlling any aspect of an Audio/Visual system. My work involves interfacing with a lot of RS232 devices to control projectors and monitors etc using the device manufacturer's communication protocol.

Everything I have done so far with C# has been by self-education and a lot of trial and error.

I would like to ask for some advice to make the below code cleaner. It's a logic engine for controlling a Sony TV. This is a callback from a Timer object that runs every 200ms. Every passing second, it queries the device and on all other entries, it performs checks to evaluate if any tasks like power control or input switching are required.

Although this would be completely fine and acceptable before, in C# and with what I've learned so far, it feels too complicated and like a code smell. My hunch is there is probably a much simpler and cleaner way to do this. More repeatable. But I'm not seeing it.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. If you have any question or need further information just ask. I can post other parts of the class if required.

Thanks,

C#:
private void DriveLogicEngine(object obj) {
    if (!_client.IsConnected) {
        return;
    }

switch (++_logicEngineLoopCount) {
        case 5: {
            switch (_query) {