Movement script error

StolasTheOwl

Programming Experience
Beginner
Im new to coding and I copied this script to get a general idea of it, but my unity client is saying that it has an error. The Error specifically is CS1002: expected. How do I fix this?
C#:
using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;

public class PlayerMovementScript : MonoBehaviour
{

public CharacterController controller;

public float speed = 12f;
    public float gravity = -9.81f;
    public float jumpHeight = 3f;

public Transform groundCheck;
    public float groundDistance = 0.4f;
    public LayerMask groundMask;

Vector3 velocity;
    bool isGrounded;

// Update is called once per frame
    void Update()
    {

isGrounded = Physics.CheckSphere(groundCheck.Position, groundDistance, groundMask);

If(isGrounded && velocity.y < 0)

velocity.y = 2f;
      float x = Input.GetAxis("Horizontal");
      float z = Input.GetAxis("Vertical");

Vector3 move = transform.right * x + transform.forward * z;

controller.Move(move * speed * Time.deltaTime);

If(Input.GetButtonDown("Jump") && isGrounded);

velocity.y = Mathf.Sqrt(jumpHeight * -2f * gravity);

velocity.y += gravity * Time.deltaTime;

controller.move(velocity * Time.deltaTime);
    }
}

Last edited by a moderator:
What line is that error pointing to?

it says that its pointing to (27,39) but im not sure whats actually wrong with the lines.
1631209069615.png

On line 27, you have a capital 'I' in what looks to be an if statement. C# is case sensitive, so it should lowercase 'i'. With the uppercase 'I', the C# compiler thinks that you are calling a function called If and trying to pass parameters to it, a function call needs to be separated from the next statement by a ';'. The compiler is saying that it is expecting to find that semicolon.