parallel calls - How to Identify which call failed?

Kannan1212

Programming Experience
1-3
I am new to Parallel call in .Net core, please help me.

I am making Parallel call, so I would like to know here if any calls fails in If one of out of many calls fails or all calls failed then we should write to logs specific which Permanent ID got failed. Please help me how to Identify which one failed

C#:
foreach (var permanentId in permanentIds)
{
    Request1 request = new Request1 ()
    {
        AccountID =  permanentId // "02134665300468820"
    };

tasks.Add(ModelServiceProcessing(request).ContinueWith((TResult) => ServiceList.Add(TResult.Result)));
}

await Task.WhenAll(tasks.ToArray());

Last edited by a moderator:
I am able to solve using like below -
C#:
Dictionary<Task, string> taskAccountMap = new Dictionary<Task, string>();

foreach (var permanentId in permanentIds)
{
    Request1 request = new Request1()
    {
        AccountID =  permanentId // "02134665300468820"
    };

Task requestTask = ModelServiceProcessing(request).ContinueWith((TResult) => ServiceList.Add(TResult.Result));
    taskAccountMap[requestTask] = permanentId;
    tasks.Add(requestTask);
}

I already formatted the code in your first post and specifically asked you to format code snippets in future and you have ignored that. Please do us the courtesy of formatting your code for readability in future.

@Kannan1212: Although your solution in post #3 may work, it feels like such a kludge. Here we are in a modern world using objects, multiple threads, asynchronous code, and parallism, and then we revert back to using parallel arrays or expensive dictionaries to map which id was being handled by which task.