Placing gameobjects at random locations

mattyg55

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello, I am a student trying to code a basic game for an intro to coding class. I am creating a game where a car is driving down the road and gameobjects (cones) are falling from the sky onto the road at random places. I was able to code the car and road to move but could not code the cones gameobjects to fall from the sky. I need the cones to fall at random locations in front of the car at random speeds. Would someone be able to guide me as to how to write the commands to get these gameobjects to appear?

The cones falling from the sky would be similar logic to the car moving on the road: every few seconds in your game loop, you just advance the position of the cone closer to the ground. When the cone "hits" the roads, then it stops falling.

You would just use a random number generator to generate a number that maps to the random location in the sky for the initial position of the cone, as well as generate a random velocity for the cone's fall rate.

The cones falling from the sky would be similar logic to the car moving on the road: every few seconds in your game loop, you just advance the position of the cone closer to the ground. When the cone "hits" the roads, then it stops falling.

You would just use a random number generator to generate a number that maps to the random location in the sky for the initial position of the cone, as well as generate a random velocity for the cone's fall rate.

Thanks for your response Skydiver! I am trying to get multiple cones to display at random times and locations which is a different outcome from what the moving car is supposed to do. This is the code I have so far based on what I did in my class but I am not sure what I am missing. I also need to automate the command to start automatically when the scene starts.

Thanks in advance.

C#:
    void Start()
    {
        cone = GameObject.Find("Traffic_Cone");