Question Random file access

pumper

Programming Experience
1-3
I am new to C# programing. I have been using visual basic.
and when I access my file I use: FileOpen, FileGet FilePut and FileClose features of visual basic.

What would be similar in C#?

You shouldn't be using those in VB anyway. They are holdovers from VB6. If you're using a .NET language then there are numerous ways to work with files in the System.IO namespace. You can create a FileStream to get random binary access to a file.

Can you point me to some examples?

Not specifically but it works like any Stream. If you were to explain what you're trying to achieve, what you've tried to achieve it and how it doesn't meet expectations, we may be able to point you in the right direction.

I have data in a file. The first field of data has a USER ID 36 characters long, next is a DATE 12 characters long, next a USER NAME 25 characters long and then a NOTE FIELD 4000 characters long. The DATE and USER NAME are not encrypted, the other fields are. I need to read each field. Each field is saved as a string.

I would upload a copy of my file but I don't see how to do that.

I have data in a file. The first field of data has a USER ID 36 characters long, next is a DATE 12 characters long, next a USER NAME 25 characters long and then a NOTE FIELD 4000 characters long. The DATE and USER NAME are not encrypted, the other fields are. I need to read each field. Each field is saved as a string.